SOFA Chicago 2012

SOFA 2012 did not disappoint. In fact, I think I am still recovering and processing what I learned and observed. The amount of “glasspiration” there was absolutely insane! When I walked in with fellow glass artist friend Linda Oeffling, I had to make a conscious effort to harness my excitement. I wanted to jump up and down and do back flips at certain points as I encountered one amazing piece of glass art after another.

Just when I thought I had some semblance of self-control, we floated into the Maureen Littleton Gallery booth, drawn in by a breathtaking piece with a $250,000 price tag by Maureen’s father, and father of the Studio Glass movement, Harvey Littleton. It was then that I had the very great honor and pleasure of being introduced to Maureen, John Littleton (Harvey’s son), Kate Vogel and Fritz Dreisbach! All my composure was gone with the wind at that point, but they graciously allowed me to capture that moment in photograph.

Kate Vogel, Fritz Dreisbach, Lucky Me, & John Littleton

Kate Vogel, Fritz Dreisbach, Lucky Me, & John Littleton

This moment would not have been possible were it not for a beautiful individual I met through MCGAG, Midwest Contemporary Glass Art Group named Louise Abrahams who did the introducing. Suffice it to say I am beyond grateful and this was the absolute highlight of my SOFA 2012 visit.

Lucy Lyon Sofa 2012 copy

Lucy Lyon SOFA 2012

Toots Zynsky, one of my personal favorites!

Toots Zynsky, one of my personal favorites!

Gorgeous glasswork by Doug Randall

Gorgeous glasswork by Doug Randall

Ann Wolf SOFA 2012

Ann Wolf SOFA 2012

Lino Tagliapietra at SOFA 2012

Lino Tagliapietra at SOFA 2012

Paul Stankard SOFA 2012

Paul Stankard SOFA 2012

Sofa2012

This entry was posted in General, Glass History, Glassy Desintations, Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

